Heritage Hall of Honor

The fabric of Texas history contains many threads – political, social, military and economic – but none so basic, none so enduring as the story of the land itself.

Volumes have been written about pioneers who pushed beyond the existing frontier to lay claim to the vast wilderness that was Texas. Legends surround these lone adventurers. The Texas Heritage Hall of Honor recognizes men and women who have made significant contributions to the agricultural heritage of Texas. They have made their marks as farmers, ranchers, drovers, inventors, innovators, educators, authors, legislators and preservationists. Their achievements span 170 years, reaching back to the birth of the Texas Republic and extending out into a limitless future.

The program was established in 1992 as a biennial program. Every two years, nominees both living and deceased are considered for induction.

The 2016 Heritage Hall of Honor selection process has begun.

Heritage Hall of Honor Members

2014 Heritage Hall of Honor Announced

Five prominent Texans, distinguished by their contributions to agriculture and ranching, have been selected for induction into the Texas Heritage Hall of Honor on September 26, opening day of the 2014 State Fair of Texas.  The new inductees join 65 previously enshrined members.

Hoover Carden, Edward L Cline, Jim L. Peterson, Charles W. Post and Bob Stallman have been elected to membership for 2014.  The Texas Heritage Hall of Honor was established in 1992 by the State Fair of Texas to recognize lifetime achievement in agriculture.

Class of 2014 Bios

HOOVER CARDEN of Fairfield was a visionary whose legacy still remains a prominent part of the Texas community. Carden served nearly 40 years with the Texas Agriculture Extension Service and Prairie View A&M University Cooperative Extension Program. Aiming to reduce the declining number of African American land owners, Carden specialized in working with limited-resource families and small farm owners. His efforts also helped revive the educational system within African American land-grant colleges.

EDWARD L. CLINE of Houston served as the Landowners Association of Texas president and the chairman of Harris County Appraisal Board Panel. Cline played a significant role in reducing property loss among African American landowners, as well as supporting student agricultural projects. His passion for the education system is evident in his service, as he was a monitor for the Texas Education Agency and worked in his native city as the assistant superintendent for Houston Independent School District.

JIM L. PETERSON of Corpus Christi is known for his long-standing role in the food industry and remains an active leader in the foodservice business today. Serving as president and CEO of Whataburger, Inc. for 23 years, Peterson represented one of the largest beef producers in the nation, and the only fully-integrated foodservice company to utilize beef cattle in every step of the production process. The avid cattle rancher was previously the president of the National Restaurant Association, and currently works as a director for both Blimpie International, Inc. and Back Yard Burgers, Inc.

CHARLES W. POST of Springfield, Illinois, founded Postum Cereal Company in 1894, the innovator worked to establish Post City, Texas, a self-sufficient agricultural community. He was responsible for inventing farm machinery tools, such as the plow blade, cultivator, hay stacker and seed planter. A leader in agribusiness, Post held the position of president of the American Manufacturers Association. In addition to his achievements in food production, Post built Postex Cotton Mills and formed the Double U Company, both located in Garza County.

BOB STALLMAN of Columbus is the first Texan to be elected president of the American Farm Bureau Federation. Recognized by the Texas House of Representatives and Texas State Senate as a “champion of agriculture,” Stallman has been instrumental in proposing improvements to our current farm policy and advocates for economic issues such as decreased regulation of the agricultural industry. The Columbus resident is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Texas Farm Bureau’s highest honor – the Distinguished Service Award, as well as the 2009 Texas A&M “Friend of Agriculture” award.