State Fair of Texas Awards College Scholarships to Area High School Students

The Board of Directors of the State Fair of Texas honored the 2014 Dallas Independent School District (“DISD”) State Fair of Texas Pete Schenkel Scholarship recipients at a luncheon in The Music Hall at Fair Park. This year’s keynote speaker was Richie Butler, founding senior pastor of Union Cathedral and managing director of Prescott Group. KDFW Fox 4 news anchor, Clarice Tinsley, made the presentations of the scholarship awards to each student.

A total of 51 seniors received awards including: Janetci Arevalo, Emma Chalott Barron, Carina Diaz, Monica Esquivel, Daisy Garcia, Jessica Garcia, Karla Garcia, Yerania Hernandez, Jenny Ho, Alexus Petty, Salina Robinson, Consuelo Rojas, Cristian Sanchez, Katherine Sitler-Elbel, Erika Soto, Dejaleigh Washington and Karen Zamora, of Irma L. Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School; Tiera Dural, Aaron Lawrence, Shiesha McGue and Aaron Williford, of James Madison High School; Juan-Ye Edmun, Kourine Gibson, Cameron Jackson, Dariel Johnson, Marquis Lawrence, D’Quavian Powell, Marcheyelle Webb and Ivonne Williams, of Lincoln High School; Tanya Alvarez, Ashley Arias, Daniela Chaparro, Celeste De La Cruz, Clarissa De La Cruz, Crystal Garcia, Tesia Le, Jose Ramirez and Georgina Villa, of North Dallas High School; and from Woodrow Wilson High School, Shannon Barthelemy, Eli Cantu III, Jamilex Carreno, Gabrielle DeRouen, Michaela Durman, Chase Fisher, Gage Hendrix, Patrick Kennedy, Audrey Kinast, Jack Lane, Maria May, Blake Norrid and Maxwell Zotos.

In addition to the 51 new scholarship recipients, the State Fair of Texas renewed scholarships for 176 existing recipients who are currently attending a college or university within Texas.

The State Fair of Texas Scholarship Program was established in 1992. Each year, to honor its past Chairman Pete Schenkel, the State Fair of Texas awards multiple $5,000 college scholarships to selected applicants from five DISD high schools surrounding the Fair Park area – Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School, James Madison, Lincoln, North Dallas and Woodrow Wilson High Schools.

In addition, the State Fair awards $5,000 scholarships to selected applicants who have participated in the State Fair of Texas Youth Livestock competitive events and who are enrolling in an agricultural-related or agricultural-benefiting natural science curriculum.

Scholastic performance is important, with preference given to students ranking in the top 25% of their class. All scholarships require that the student attends an accredited college or university within the State of Texas, and exhibits high scholastic achievement by maintaining a cumulative 3.0 or better grade point average, in order to be renewed. Scholarships are paid over four years, with the payment going directly to the college or university on the student’s behalf.

Over its 22 year history, this program has received and reviewed 3,746 applications and has provided scholarships to 1,379 students for a total of over $3.7 million dollars, including this year’s applicants.

# # #

2014 Pete Schenkel Scholarship Luncheon Images
About the State Fair of Texas

Since its inception in 1886, the State Fair of Texas has celebrated all things Texan by promoting agriculture, education, and community involvement through quality entertainment in a family-friendly environment. The State Fair of Texas is a non-profit organization with all proceeds helping to preserve and improve Fair Park and underwrite museum, community and scholarship programs for inner city youth and students pursuing agricultural careers. The 2014 exposition runs September 26 through October 19 in Fair Park. Visit for more information.



Check Also

U.S. Coast Guard presented 2017 Pride of Texas Award

During the 2017 Opening Ceremony, State Fair of Texas President, Mitchell Glieber, will present a …