State Fair Board Leadership


Chairman of the Board

Richard Knight, Jr.
Chairman of the Board

Richard Knight, Jr. has a long history of management expertise in the local, national and international business arena. With more than 35 years of management experience, Mr. Knight has administered and overseen a variety of multi-million dollar projects in the public as well as the private sector. He currently serves as chairman for Pegasus Texas Construction and is owner of Knight Waste Services. Mr. Knight also has an extensive background in the oil industry. He is the founder of Knightco Oil Company and has worked with Caltex Petroleum Corporation for more than eight years. During his tenure, he first served as Director of Total Quality and Environmental Management in Dallas and later became General Manager of Administration with the Caltex Group in Singapore and assumed the position of General Manager of Marketing and Lubricants. He then took over the international sales for manufacturing, marketing, and sales of lubricants to Malaysia, Indonesia, Myanmar (formerly Burma), Cambodia and Vietnam.

In the public sector, Mr. Knight served as the City Manager for the City of Dallas from 1986 to 1990, and was the first African-American to hold the position. During his tenure, he administered an operating budget of more than $869 million, a capital budget of more than $247 million, with a payroll of more than 13,200 city employees. Major capital projects initiated or completed during his tenure included the $85 million construction of the Meyerson Symphony Center, the $65.6 million expansion of the Dallas Convention Center and the $14.5 million expansion of the Cotton Bowl, along with street, thoroughfare and storm drainage improvements.

Mr. Richard Knight, Jr. is well known for his commitment to the Dallas community. In addition to the State Fair of Texas, Mr. Knight currently serves on numerous boards including the Dallas Citizens Council, Chairman of Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, the Center Operating Group (American Airlines Center), the Salesmanship Club of Dallas, Frazier Revitalization, Inc. (FRI), Texas Southern University Board of Regents, Goodwill Industries and the Boy Scouts of America – Circle Ten Council. Past board memberships include the University of North Texas Board of Regents, North Texas Public Broadcasting and Comerica Bank. He has also been affiliated with the International City Management Association (ICMA) and the DFW Minority Business Development Council.

Mr. Knight holds a Masters of Public Administration degree from the University of North Carolina and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and History with a minor in Economics from Fort Valley State University in Georgia. He has completed additional work in Political Science at Atlanta University and Yale University.

Mr. Knight was a recipient of the Outstanding Alumnus of the University of North Carolina, and the Horace Mann Bond by Fort Valley State University. Mr. Knight is also a four year veteran of the U.S. military service and served in Vietnam.


Board of Directors

Richard Knight, Jr., Chairman

Roy C. Coffee, Jr.

Ruben E. Esquivel

Robert Estrada

Lois Finkelman

James M. Moroney III

Alice Murray

Gina Norris

James C. Roberts

Pete Schenkel

John F. Scovell

George A. Shafer

Bruce A. Sifford

Robert B. Smith

Mary Suhm

Alan Walne

Craig A. Woodcook


Board of Advisors

Joe Alcantar

Marissa R. Anchia

Lance R. Andrews

Norman P. Bagwell

Robert W. Best

Jan Hart Black

April Box

Richie Butler

John W. Carpenter, III

Terry R. Dallas

John de la Garza III

Paul Dyer

Matrice Ellis-Kirk

Victor Elmore

Randall R. Engstrom

Rob Farrell

J. Guadalupe V. Garcia

Gary Griffith

Donna Halstead

Douglas D. Hawthorne

Vonciel Jones Hill

James L. Hitzelberger

Brenda Jackson

Tom Lazo

J. Michael Lewis

Wendy Lopez

Alex Madrazo

Steven Mancillas

Stephen L. Mansfield

Todd C. Meier

Donnie Nelson

Raymond F. Quintanilla

Rowland K. Robinson

Pastor Chris Simmons

Doug Thompson

Nina Vaca

W. Kelvin Walker

Matthew R. Walters

A. B. Wharton

Joel T. Williams, III

Rev. S. M. Wright II